January reads

I set a lofty goal of reading 55 books this year. And for the month of January, I managed to complete four books – that’s 7% of my goal with 333 days to go.

January reads

For the last few months, I’ve been feeling the itch to re-read. The first book of 2016 was Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I re-watch the entire Harry Potter movie series every Christmas – it perfectly embodies that time of year for me – but I hadn’t re-read the books since the series ended.

I keep getting excited when I run across details in the books that aren’t in the movie – Peeves, the hint about Ginny writing in a journal all summer which sets the stage for the entire second book. Rowling does such a good job of dropping hints about where the individual book and the overall series will go.

In addition to re-reading Harry Potter, I’m re-reading the first two books of The Raven Boys series before I allow myself to read book three. The more I read, the more I fall in love with Gansey. And Ronan. I don’t have a history with YA but I’ve fallen in love it recently. With quality series like the Raven Boys, Mortal Instruments and Chaos Walking, it’s really hard not to.

I’d love to finish HP by the end of February and get back to the didn’t-officially-join-it-but-participating-in-it #ReadYourOwnDamnBooks challenge.

 

 

Respond to January reads

Leave a Reply

