List 2

The prompt for week 2 is to list your favourite characters from books, movies, etc. I stuck to only books and movies. And chopped this list down to just the faves. Asking me for favourites from literature inspired a 2 day read through my entire ‘read’ list from GoodReads. 

Books

Marya Morevna from Catherynne Valente’s Deathless

I will see him with his skin off before I agree to fall in love. For this was how Marya Morevna surmised that love was shaped; an agreement, a treaty between two nations that one could either sign or not as they pleased.” -page 24

I loved Valente before I read her. I kept seeing quotes from her books on social media and adding them to my GoodReads account. Marya Morevna is the girl I want to be – clever, comfortable being different, immersed in a fairy tale. It’s not the most common of wishes, but it’s my ultimate wish and I lived it through her story.

Katharine Blum from Heinrich Boll’s The Lost Honor of Katharina Blum, or How Violence Develops and Where it Can Lead

“… she said she would not sign any deposition containing the word “amorous” instead of “advances”. For her the difference was of crucial significance, and one of the reasons she had separated from her husband was that he had never been amorous but had consistently made advances.”

The main character in this story is Katharina Blum. I love her for sticking to her guns, truly knowing herself, in the midst of a crisis. The thing I admire the most is her willingness to live in the moment.

Pechorin from Mikhail Lermontov’s A Hero of Our Time

“I was ready to love the whole world, but no one understood me, and I learned to hate.”

Anti-heroes are the best heroes. Pechorin had the sorrow of young Werther but a certain extra umph that I’ve never felt from a character before. He didn’t have to be the good guy and I didn’t want him to be.

Movies

Clementine from Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Too many guys think I’m a concept, or I complete them, or I’m gonna make them alive. But I’m just a fucked-up girl who’s lookin’ for my own peace of mind; don’t assign me yours.

Sometimes seeing someone else as fucked up as you are, acting it out in the same way that you want to (but are too young to). It feels like everyone of a certain age identifies with this film.

Matthew from The Dreamers

The first time I saw a movie at the cinématèque française I thought, “Only the French… only the French would house a cinema inside a palace.”

Gilbert Adair, who wrote the novel that eventually became this film, is a genius. Matthew has the curiosity and naivete that I can’t seem to get rid of.

Mihailo/Filozof from Lajanje na Zvezde/Barking at the Stars

A Bosnian film about love. Mihailo is the main character who wins over the girl of his dreams while living out his last days of high school.

Respond to List 2

Leave a Reply

